Written by admin on Jan 20th, 2015 in FY 2009 | Comments Off on FY 2009

FY 2009

17. Prof. Kim will speak to the Center for Research and Education in Optical Sciences and Applications at Delaware State University on December 3rd. His talk is entitled “Bacterial Microfluidics and Nanofluidics for Microbiorobotics and Single Molecule Analysis “. (December 2009)

16. Hosted by the Laurence A. Baiada Center for Enterpreneurship in Technology, the Drexel Green Initiative and the Great Works Symposium, Dheeraj Roy and Kevin Freedman entered the competition with the idea that a novel scientific device would contribute to the nationalwide green initiative. “Carbon Nanotube Filter to Reduce Greenhouse Effect,” won the 2nd place overall and a cash prize of $400 (November 2009)

15. Prof. Kim chaired the Microfluidics Symposium: Fluid Engineering in Micro- and Nanosystems at the 2009 ASME IMECE meeting, which covered the latest developments in uses of fluid mechanics for the design and optimization of micro-devices for mechanical, chemical and biological applications and devices in research and industry (November 2009)

14. Matt Federici has been selected as a 2009-10 recipeint of the Department of Education GAANN Fellowship. Dr. Kim (with Drs. Lowman and Zavaliangos) was contributed to the GAANN award ($653,280) from DoEd, entitled “GAANN: Engineering for Pharmaceutical Applications”. The three-year grant is a need-based fellowship that funds Ph.D. students who will receive exceptional training in research and education in the field of engineering for pharmaceutical applications. Congratulations! (September 2009)

13.Rafael Mulero has been selected as a 2009 recipient of the Koerner Family Fellowship, which was established to encourage and mentor Ph.D. students to pursue a career in academia. Congratulations! (September 2009)

12. Ed Steager has successfully done his PhD defense, entitled “Actuation and Control of Microfabricated Structures Using Flagellated Bacteria.” He will join Prof. Vijay Kumar’s group for his postdoctoral fellowship to further study microbiorobotics. Contratulations, Dr. Steager!!! (September 2009)

11. Matthew Federici is the 2009 Submeta Open Notebook Secience Challenge Award winner. Matt has applied an NMR technique to measure solubility See his experments here. (July 2009)

10. The IGERT selection committee at Drexel University has decided to award Kevin Freedman NSF-IGERT fellowship. Congratulations! (June 2009)

9. Prof. MinJun Kim will present as a keynote speaker at the 2009 International Symposium on Nature-Inspired Technology in Jeju, Korea. His talk is entitled “Microbiorobotics for Locomotion and Manipulation at Low Reynolds Number,” in which a new class of synthetic bacteria will be introduced for drug delivery. (May 2009)

8. Our article, “Galvanotactic and phototactic control of Tetrahymena pyriformis as a microfluidic workhorse,” published in Applied Physics Letters 94, 163901 (2009), has been selected for the May 1, 2009 issue of Virtual Journal of Biological Physics Research.  The Virtual Journal, which is published by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics in cooperation with numerous other societies and publishers, is an edited compilation of links to articles from participating publishers, covering a focused area of frontier research. (May 2009)

7. Bill Hesse has received the prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for his PhD research program. Congratulations! (April 2009)

6. The prestigious National Defense Science & Engineering Graduate Fellowship has been given to Bill Hesse for his advanced research. (April 2009)

5. Prof. MinJun Kim’s international team (with Dr. Josh Edel, Imperial College London, UK and Dr. Per Jemth, Uppsala University, Sweden) has received the prestigious Human Frontier Science Program Young Investigator Award for his project entitled, “High Resolution Folding/Binding Kinetics of Single Protein Molecules within Nanofluidic Structures.” The HFSP Young Investigator Grants support international teams of scientists who are focusing on fundamental issues in the life science by combining expertise from different disciplines. Only 9 teams among 600 proposals have made it this year. The objective of the project is to define a new single-molecule nanoanalytical technology which will enable the efficient detection of non-covalent molecular interactions with microsecond resolution in order to answer fundamental questions about these proteins, for example, what comes first, folding or binding? The budget of the HFSP Young Investigator Award program is $1.05M for 3 years. (March 2009)

4. Micrographs taken by Bill Hesse have been recognized in the CRF (Centralized Research Facilities) Competition for Best Image. Five black and white micrographs will be colorized and displayed on the CRF website. (March 2009)

3. Bill Hesse has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Award from the College of Engineering for his work on biologicall inspired microrobots for drug delivery applications. One undergraduate from each department in the College of Engineering is chosen to receive the award for their excellence in research. (February 2009)

2. Through the NSF REU program, Rafael Mulero and Yaminah Watshon (Cheyney University of Pennsylvania) are going to present their findings in the 23rd National Conference on Undergraduate Research. The paper is entitled “Investigation into the use of chemically modified solid-state sub-micropores for biomolecular assembly” (February 2009)

1. Prof. MinJun Kim has organized a workshop for “Single Molecule Biophysics World Networking” (Feb 16-17), in which world-recognized scientists in the field of bionanotechnology will talk about their ongoing research topics at Drexel University. (January 2009)